Support Us Button Widget

The winners of Nashville’s 47th annual Preservation Awards

Several properties in Music City were recognized by the Metropolitan Historical Commission for their preservation efforts. The 2023 award recipients were honored during a ceremony on Thursday, May 18.

A building with glass windows all around and a sculpture out front

Werthan Warehouse at 601 Taylor Pl. received the Preservation Award in the Commercial category.| Image by Matthew Carbone via Metro Nashville

In honor of Preservation Month, the Metropolitan Historical Commission recognized preservation projects for their contributions to maintaining Nashville’s historic architecture.

Along with celebrating residential, infill, and commercial preservation projects, the Historical Commission presented the following three awards at the 47th annual Preservation Awards:

  • Gary M. Burke, Fletch Coke Award | “Gary M. Burke is widely known for his advocacy for the preservation of Fort Negley, the surrounding community, and the stories of its descendants.”
  • Phil Ponder, Achievement Award | “Since 1982, [Ponder] has released 11 skyline paintings of Nashville, documenting the loss of historic buildings as well as the creation of new icons.”
  • RCA Studio A, Commissioners’ Award | “The threat to RCA Studio A galvanized a movement to preserve Music Row and other music industry resources across the county, leading to a comprehensive documentation study supported by the National Trust for Historic Preservation.”

Fun fact: Properties are nominated by the public, with over 400 awards given since 1973.

View all of the winners and honorable mentions.

More from NASHtoday