Support Us Button Widget

Results for the Aug. 3 Metro General Election

Nashville mayor, vice mayor, and council seats were on the ballot.


Drum roll please — Here are the results you’ve been waiting for. | Photo by NASHtoday

Table of Contents

You’ve done your part at the polls and now you’re waiting to see who will represent Metro for the next four years.

Here are some of the big takeaways of the Metro General Election on Aug. 3, sourced from the Davidson County Election Commission’s unofficial results with 100% of precincts reported.


We’ll have to wait a few more weeks to find out Nashville’s next mayor. With no candidate receiving 50% or more of the vote, Freddie O’Connell and Alice Rolli — the top two vote-getters — will be on the ballot for the Thursday, Sept. 14 runoff election. Bookmark the early voting schedule.

Vice Mayor

Angie Henderson will be Nashville’s next vice mayor. Incumbent Jim Shulman received 47.4% of the vote. Henderson spent the last two terms representing District 34, which includes Forest Hills and parts of Oak Hill and Green Hills.

Aside from being the next in line to serve, the vice mayor presides over Metro Council meetings, assigns council members to committees, and votes in the event of a tie.

Metro Council

All 35 district council seats and five at-large seats were on the ballot. Check out Davidson County Election Commission’s website for the total number of votes for each candidate, as well as this election tracker for the list of candidates headed to the runoff.

See the special election results for House Districts 51 and 52.