Support Us Button Widget

Guide to the 2023 Metro Nashville General Election

Early voting for the Aug. 3 election begins Friday, July 14. To make this election as easy as possible, we’ve curated need-to-know information.

Voting sticker in front of a shelf of books

Don’t forget Election Day on Thursday, Aug. 3. | Photo by NASHtoday

Table of Contents

At NASHtoday, we aim to cover local elections in a way that educates and activates our community with unbiased information to encourage individual voter participation. (I.e. vote for whoever + whatever you want to, just make sure to vote.) To learn more, check out our Editorial Ethics Policy.

Thursday, Aug. 3 is the big day — aka Election Day — and we’ve done the Googling so you don’t have to. To make this election as easy as possible, we’ve curated need-to-know information about how and where to vote, along with what we’re voting on.

Are you registered?

First things first, check your voter registration status. If you’re unsure where to go, the tool will provide your Election Day polling location + district seats based on your address.

Find your polling location

Davidson County polling places will be open on Thursday, Aug. 3 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Early voting will be open Friday, July 14-Saturday, July 29 at these locations — times vary by day.

No matter when you vote, you’ll be required to show an ID with your name and photograph — view the criteria here. Voting absentee? The deadline to request a ballot is Thursday, July 27.

What are we voting on?

In Davidson County, you’ll be voting for mayor, vice mayor, and district and at-large Metro Council seats. The special general election for House District 52 and the Democratic and Republican primaries for House District 51 will also be on the ballot.

The candidates

Here are the candidates that will be on the ballot in Davidson County. To determine your district, check out this interactive map, then use the sample ballot to identify your candidates.

** We did our best to include links to the candidate’s election website or election social media account. If those were unavailable, we tried to find a link including the most information. If you know of a better link that represents any of the below candidates, please let us know.


Natisa Brooks

Fran Bush

Heidi Campbell

Bernie Cox

Jim Gingrich

Sharon W. Hurt

Stephanie Johnson

Freddie O’Connell

Alice Rolli

Vivian Wilhoite

Matt Wiltshire

Jeff Yarbro

Vice Mayor

Angie E. Henderson

Jim Shulman

Council At-Large

Burkley Allen

Tony Chapman

Chris Cheng

Chris Crofton

Stephen Downs

Quin Evans-Segall

Ronnie E. Greer

Arnold Hayes

Brian Hellwig

Olivia Hill

Yolanda Hockett

Howard Jones

Marcia Masulla

Delishia Porterfield

Russ Pulley

Gilbert Ramirez

Indrani Ray

Zulfat Suara

Jeff Syracuse

Deloris Vandivort

Jonathan Williamson

Council District 1

Ruby Baker

Sean Dailey

Rob Harris

Joy Smith Kimbrough

Timothy Thompson

Council District 2

Kyonztè Toombs

Council District 3

Jennifer Gamble

Council District 4

Davette Blalock

Mike Cortese

Brian Sullivan

Council District 5

Terri Laine Klingner

Sean Parker

Council District 6

Clay Capp

Brandes B. Holcomb

Daniel McDonell

Council District 7

Emily Benedict

Danny Williams

Council District 8

Martez Coleman

Deonté Harrell

Council District 9

Tonya Hancock

Stephanie Montenegro

Council District 10

Jennifer Frensley Webb

Zach Young

Council District 11

Joe DeLucas

Sherard Edington

Jeff Eslick

Eric A. Patton

Council District 12

Erin Evans

Council District 13

Russ Bradford

Council District 14

Jordan Huffman

R.J. Mamula

Council District 15

Jeff Gregg

Dan Jones

Council District 16

Alexa Little

Ginny Welsch

Council District 17

Tonya Esquibel

Teaka Jackson

Terry Vo

Council District 18

Tom Cash

Angus Purdy

Council District 19

Jasper Hendricks

Jacob Kupin

Jonathan Turner

Council District 20

Scott Gillihan

Rollin Horton

Council District 21

Jamel Campbell-Gooch

Brandon Taylor

Council District 22

Sheri Weiner

Council District 23

Thom Druffel

Lisa Williams

Council District 24

Brenda Gadd

Council District 25

David Ackerman

Jeff Preptit

Rolando Toyos

Council District 26

Courtney Johnston

Council District 27

Robert Nash

Council District 28

David Benton

Travis London

Council District 29

Tasha Ellis

Jama Mohamed

John Reed

Michele Vetter

Council District 30

Sandra Sepulveda

Council District 31

Dia Hart

John Rutherford

Council District 32

Joy Styles

Council District 33

Antoinette W. Lee

Council District 34

Luke Austin Elliott

Sandy Ewing

Council District 35

Carson Smart

Jason Spain

Special Republican Primary Election Tennessee House District 51

David C. Hooven

Special Democratic Primary Election Tennessee House District 51

Aftyn Behn

Anthony Davis

Special General Election Tennessee House District 52

Laura Nelson

Justin Jones

More from NASHtoday
Tap, tap — is this thing on? Get ready for an afternoon of inspiring talks from 10+ speakers.
This week — Monday, July 22-Friday, July 26, 2024 — we’re shining a spotlight on the vibrant drink scene in Nashville.
The annual literary festival welcomes 150 authors to Nashville for two days of public programming. Here’s what to know ahead of the event.
Guests can “choose their own adventure” on the prix fixe multi-course menu when Fancypants opens in the Cleveland Park neighborhood at the end of July.
Christmas in July? While there’s no snow in the forecast, don’t be surprised if you see downtown Franklin decked out for the holidays a few months early.
Whether you’re a fan of soft serve or looking for a dairy-free fix, there’s plenty to discover on the Nashville ice cream scene.
Join NDOT on Thursday, July 18 (5-7 p.m.) for the Midtown Road-eo Festival, an opportunity to ask questions and provide feedback on upcoming multimodal transportation projects.
Explore some of Music City’s oldest establishments alongside new additions to the business + restaurant scene.
From classic dogs to innovative creations (mac and cheese, anyone?), there’s no shortage of places to order a hot dog in Music City.